Middle Age Ramblings

Where I Share My Thoughts On This Journey Called Life

Made To Crave

Like newborn babies, crave pure spiritual , so that you may grow up in your salvation, now that you have tasted that the Lord is good. 1 Peter 2:2-3 NIV

I’m a grandpop now, by the way, there is nothing like it. I remember well what it was like when my daughters were small. When they got hungry, they would let you know it. If we were a little slow getting that bottle ready they would tune up and let us know to hurry up.

Just like a baby craves milk, followers of Christ should crave the reading of the Bible, God’s inspired word. I believe that just like a little child starts with milk and then moves on to soft food and then, after they get teeth, to more solid food, I believe that we as followers of Christ should be progressing in the reading and studying of our Bibles.

Let me give you some suggestions that have helped me over the years as I have developed a habit of regular Bible study.

1. Set aside a specific time. Some of us are extremely busy. It’s easy to let life crowd out our reading time. If you have to, schedule Bible reading and study time into your calendar each day, and set a reminder to insure that you don’t forget.

2. Set aside a specific place.

3. Make certain you have good conditions for reading. This means eliminating anything that might distract you from that task. Also make certain that the lighting is good, the temperature is comfortable, and that you have a good chair to sit in while reading.

4. Get a good translation of the Bible that you can understand. My favorites , in no certain order are:

a. New King James Version

b. English Standard Version

c. King James Version

d. Holman Christian Standard Version

I’m sure there are other suggestions to help you to do a better job of reading the Bible. Remember, we are made to crave the Word of God.

What are some ideas that have helped you with your Bible reading time? Share some of them in the comments below.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Comment

Worthily Magnify

Helping Worship Leaders Lead Well

Levi's Daily Thoughts

For I know that my Redeemer lives Job 19:25

Jon Rouse

a blog about God, life, and everything else

Jesus My Healer

Devotions on Divine Healing

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

The Great Plains Poet

Just a simple pen used with integrity, whimsy and God's purpose; to show the whole world that you can overcome anything with Jesus! -Psalm 52:8

Dare to Look

dare to look beyond the veil

MindMedicine Blog

Professional Golfer & Mind Coach in Life & Professional Sport...

46 Psalm

Be still and know that I am God

Ireadthat

read, write and contribute

