Middle Age Ramblings

Where I Share My Thoughts On This Journey Called Life

The Calm After The Storm

I’m sitting here in my office at home, looking out the window because it is a slow day, I noticed something.It’s quiet around here today! Normally, I have the radio playing here in the office, but not today. I mean it is quiet around here. Not just in my house, but outside as well.

What’s so important about the quiet today? Yesterday was much different. It was stormy where I live in North Mississippi. I’m talking high winds, lots of rain, thunder, lightning, you get the idea. Not today!

Today the sun is shining, there is very little wind, it’s just an AMAZING day! When I look at the beautiful day God has given today and I remember how stormy it was yesterday, it reminds me of how God watches over us. How even in the darkest of times in our lives, there is always a time of refreshing. A time to draw near to Him and be refreshed from our struggles. I believe it is important for us to take advantage of these times to refresh and recharge ourselves for two reasons.

First, it is important for us to recharge physically. Most people I know don’t take enough time to rest their physical bodies. I’ve known of many people and you probably do to, who do not get enough rest for their physical bodies. there is a whole library full of examples of what happens to our bodies without ample rest.

Second it is important for us to recharge spiritually and mentally. I group these two together rather than separately because I feel they go together. That’s part of the way God designed the human body at creation. There are several instances in the Bible where Jesus goes up the mountain, or to some other place to pray. These were times of spiritual and mental recharging that prepared Him for what lay ahead of Him.

I believe we all need to make it a point to get adequate rest, both physical rest as well as mental and spiritual rest.

What are your thoughts? What are some ways you rest? Do you feel it is important to have times of refreshing?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Comment

Worthily Magnify

Helping Worship Leaders Lead Well

Levi's Daily Thoughts

For I know that my Redeemer lives Job 19:25

Jon Rouse

a blog about God, life, and everything else

Jesus My Healer

Devotions on Divine Healing

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

The Great Plains Poet

Just a simple pen used with integrity, whimsy and God's purpose; to show the whole world that you can overcome anything with Jesus! -Psalm 52:8

Dare to Look

dare to look beyond the veil

MindMedicine Blog

Professional Golfer & Mind Coach in Life & Professional Sport...

46 Psalm

Be still and know that I am God

Ireadthat

read, write and contribute

