Middle Age Ramblings

Where I Share My Thoughts On This Journey Called Life

My Big Decision

I made a big decision this week. Some of you are not going to think it was very big, but it was big for me. This week my wife and I joined the local Wellness Center. I know some of you are thinking big whup, but let me elaborate a little.

I am 53 years old, overweight by a bunch, and I have high blood pressure and high cholesterol. I’ve watched what I eat for some time  with fair results, but it’s time to finish the job.

Also my wife Janet has Fibromyalgia. I think I spelled that right. Anyway her doctor has recommended mild exercise as a way to feel better. The woman at the wellness center recommended water aerobics to her. She said the low impact nature of water aerobics would benefit her.

So to encourage my wife, I’m going to do that with her. I’m also going to be using the treadmills, weights and other tools to help me lose weight and get better control of my body.

I’ve also been convicted of the scripture that says,” Or do you not know that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit who is in you, whom you have from God, and you are not your own?”  1 Corinthians 6:19 NKJV.

So I’ve made the big decision. I’m going to get my lazy self up off the couch and go do something about my body. I’m going to make an attempt, with God’s help, to regain at least some of my help.

There’s also a couple of other reasons for doing this. They’re names are Taylor, who is 2 1/2,  and Easton who is almost 9 months. Grandchildren have a way of making us put things in perspective. If God is willing, I want to be around to see them grow up and to be able to be involved in their lives and in the things that the become interested in as they grow up. Just like my wife and our did when our children were growing up.

As I go on this journey, I will use this blog to periodically update you on my progress. For those who read this who place a priority on prayer, I ask that you pray for my wife and I as we take this journey to a healthier lifestyle. We are going to try to have fun while we do this.

 

If any of you also struggle with health or weight issues, share them with us in the comment section.

 

Thanks for reading

Mike Turner

Middle Age Ramblings

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Comment

Worthily Magnify

Helping Worship Leaders Lead Well

Levi's Daily Thoughts

For I know that my Redeemer lives Job 19:25

Jon Rouse

a blog about God, life, and everything else

Jesus My Healer

Devotions on Divine Healing

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

The Great Plains Poet

Just a simple pen used with integrity, whimsy and God's purpose; to show the whole world that you can overcome anything with Jesus! -Psalm 52:8

Dare to Look

dare to look beyond the veil

MindMedicine Blog

Professional Golfer & Mind Coach in Life & Professional Sport...

46 Psalm

Be still and know that I am God

Ireadthat

read, write and contribute

