Middle Age Ramblings

Where I Share My Thoughts On This Journey Called Life

Keep A Hand Over Your Mouth!

Set a guard over my mouth, O LORD;

 keep watch over the doors of my lips.    Psalm 141:3 NIV

I was reading and meditating on this passage the other morning when God called to my mind another passage from the New Testament.

Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak, slow to become angry, for man’s anger does not bring about the righteous life that God desires. James 1:19-20 NIV.

It is very hard to follow these 2 verses. At least it is for me. When I was a boy, I was very hot-tempered and high-strung. That God, I have gotten better by his grace, but I still have trouble sometimes speaking when I really shouldn’t.

The point is this. Like the Psalmist, we need to learn to “set a guard over our mouths.” I played some football when I was in high school, and I can tell you that there was many times I was thankful for  the face mask on my helmet that protected me from bodily harm.

I think that is what this verse is saying to us today. Keep a hand over your mouth. Be slow to speak even when we are right. We live in a society where many different people are shouting at the top of their lungs. We as followers of Christ need to slow down, think about what we have to say, then speak. Only then can we show the world a difference that only Christ can bring in our lives.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Keep A Hand Over Your Mouth!

  1. RebeccaAarup on said:

    So true! Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  2. Sry I meant to give you five stars but it’s difficult on an IPad. Love your blogs

    Like

Leave a Comment

Worthily Magnify

Helping Worship Leaders Lead Well

Levi's Daily Thoughts

For I know that my Redeemer lives Job 19:25

Jon Rouse

a blog about God, life, and everything else

Jesus My Healer

Devotions on Divine Healing

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

The Great Plains Poet

Just a simple pen used with integrity, whimsy and God's purpose; to show the whole world that you can overcome anything with Jesus! -Psalm 52:8

Dare to Look

dare to look beyond the veil

MindMedicine Blog

Professional Golfer & Mind Coach in Life & Professional Sport...

46 Psalm

Be still and know that I am God

Ireadthat

read, write and contribute

