Middle Age Ramblings

Where I Share My Thoughts On This Journey Called Life

Prone to Wander

This past Sunday’s Sunday School Lesson really convicted me! Actually it was not so much the lesson material in my students guide, as it was a couple of verses in the Scriptures related to the lesson material.

The lesson was entitled “The Wandering” and was based on selected passages from Numbers and Deuteronomy on the Old Testament. I bet some of you can’t even find that in your Bible-try spelling it! There is a couple of verses in Deuteronomy chapter 1 that caused me to pause and think a little more than usual. I mentioned this in the class of adults that I teach and it spawned an awesome discussion about getting of the path that God has for us. Anyway, the passage I was referring to:

It is eleven days journey from Horeb by way of Mount Seir to Kadesh Barnea. Now it came to pass in the fortieth year, in the eleventh month….. Deuteronomy 1: 2-3a NKJV

I stopped when I read that. It was not the first time I had read the fact that it took the Children of Israel 40 years to make an eleven days journey, but God wanted to say something to me as I was reading this. He was saying to me, ” Before you say something harsh about Israels lack of trust in My Words and Plans, How many times have you gotten off the path I had for you and caused me to delay blessings for you or discipline you?”

Wow! God stopped me in my tracks. I had read this passage many times and filed the facts in these verses away in my mind to resurrect when I needed to teach them, but now God was teaching me about wandering off the path myself!

Can we talk honestly? All of us who follow Christ has either gotten off the path God has for us, or rebelled and changed directions on our own. The hard part is sometimes realizing we are off the path and taking the proper steps to get back on the right path.  These thoughts of mine, while somewhat rambling, calls to mind the words of a great old hymn.

“Prone to wander Lord I feel it.

Prone to leave the God I love!”

Many of you will recognize the phrases from the hymn “Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing” I am prone to Wander off the path that God has for me sometimes. ans I must go to Him and ask for His forgiveness and restoration when I do. He is always ready to extends grace to me, but I still wish I didn’t wander so often.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Comment

Worthily Magnify

Helping Worship Leaders Lead Well

Levi's Daily Thoughts

For I know that my Redeemer lives Job 19:25

Jon Rouse

a blog about God, life, and everything else

Jesus My Healer

Devotions on Divine Healing

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

The Great Plains Poet

Just a simple pen used with integrity, whimsy and God's purpose; to show the whole world that you can overcome anything with Jesus! -Psalm 52:8

Dare to Look

dare to look beyond the veil

MindMedicine Blog

Professional Golfer & Mind Coach in Life & Professional Sport...

46 Psalm

Be still and know that I am God

Ireadthat

read, write and contribute

