Middle Age Ramblings

Where I Share My Thoughts On This Journey Called Life

Man of God

A few weeks ago I lost a great friend, a mentor, and one of the godliest men I have ever known. Mr. Lindsey was truly a man of God and I will miss him. He was Deacon Chairman when I was ordained as a deacon.He took a young sometimes high-strung and hot-tempered young man, and taught me how to be a deacon. He was a very humble man, but also a very funny man.

 I remember one incident in particular. We were in the beginning stages of a building program at church. We were meeting to discuss the final plans and how much it would cost before we presented the plans to the church for final approval. The meeting was running long, as most Baptist church meetings do. Suddenly Mr. Lindsey stood up. Everyone stopped talking to see what he was going to say. He asked, ” Just how much money are we talking about here?” We told him $165,000. He stood there and thought for a minute and then said,” Whatever you boys come up with I’m for it. I just can’t get my mind around that much money right now, so I’m going to the house.” Those who were in that room that night still laugh about what Mr. Linsey said.

I will miss Mr. Lindsey very much, but I know he’s in a better place. Someday, when my time comes to take that journey, I’m looking forward to seeing him again. Until then I will remember Mr. Lindsey as a man of humility, but a strong leader, truly a Man of God.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Man of God

  1. I remember from childhood the many times I sat in our country Baptist congregation and watched the ‘showing of hands’ as each voted his heart on various matters both large and small. I watched them discuss, debate, disagree, and so forth. I felt concern at times that there would be discord among these friends afterwards….only to usually learn we all were having lunch together at one or the others home. In those days Christians debated, disagreed, and so forth with dignity. I long for the lost dignity within debate on the national level. And may we all remember as we discuss, diagree, and debate church matters that the children are watching and learning to mimic our behavior.

    Thank God for the Mr. Lindseys who do not resist and who realize they just can’t ‘wrap their head’ around new generation things. Bless his heart.

    Touching post. Thanks for sharing.

    Carolyn

    Like

    • Thanks for your comment Carolyn. I agree that we have somehow lost the ability in this generation to share and debate ideas without hatred, or malace toward the person(s) we are debating with. I too long for the days of debate of issues with dignity.

      Thanks again for your comments.

      Mike

      Like

Leave a Comment

Worthily Magnify

Helping Worship Leaders Lead Well

Levi's Daily Thoughts

For I know that my Redeemer lives Job 19:25

Jon Rouse

a blog about God, life, and everything else

Jesus My Healer

Devotions on Divine Healing

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

The Great Plains Poet

Just a simple pen used with integrity, whimsy and God's purpose; to show the whole world that you can overcome anything with Jesus! -Psalm 52:8

Dare to Look

dare to look beyond the veil

MindMedicine Blog

Professional Golfer & Mind Coach in Life & Professional Sport...

46 Psalm

Be still and know that I am God

Ireadthat

read, write and contribute

