Middle Age Ramblings

Where I Share My Thoughts On This Journey Called Life

The Virus

The most dreaded event for a person who depends on a computer is when your computer gets hijacked by a virus! If your lucky, the computer will just lock up or some of the programs won’t run like they are supposed to. Sometimes, however it is so bad that you get the dreaded blue screen of death. Whether you take your computer to a technician to fix, or buy a new one, you must take action to continue working.

We too are infected with a virus. This virus is called sin. The Apostle Paul wrote, ” for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God ” ( Romans 3:23, NIV). Now I can almost hear what some of you are saying. ” I am a Christian. I’ve been saved for ____ years, you fill in the blank. That verse only applies to those who are not Christians. However, John wrote, ” If we claim to be without sin, we deceive ourselves and the truth is not in us.” ( I John 1:8 NIV).

Paul also wrote about his struggles with sin in Romans 7: 7-25. I often read this passage and think that if Paul had a problem with sin is there any hope for me? Then I realized that Paul was human just like me. His struggle with sin was no different from mine.

Just as we can protect our computers from viruses by using the proper software and keeping it updated, God has given us His virus software, the Bible to help protect us from sin. Psalms 119:11 says, ” I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you.” Romans 12:2 a says,” Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your minds.”

We must daily seek God’s protection from sin. Part of the Holy Spirits job is to teach us all truth and to point out sin in our lives so that we can confess and repent of it. I John 1:9 says, “If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just and will forgive our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.”

Remember, just like we must protect our computers from viruses, we must protect ourselves from the virus of sin. This requires minute by minute attention on our part. It also takes a  willingness to repent when we do sin. God wants to bless us, but we must keep the communications open with Him by confessing sin. Don’t let satans viruses keep you from fellowship with God!

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Comment

Worthily Magnify

Helping Worship Leaders Lead Well

Levi's Daily Thoughts

For I know that my Redeemer lives Job 19:25

Jon Rouse

a blog about God, life, and everything else

Jesus My Healer

Devotions on Divine Healing

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

The Great Plains Poet

Just a simple pen used with integrity, whimsy and God's purpose; to show the whole world that you can overcome anything with Jesus! -Psalm 52:8

Dare to Look

dare to look beyond the veil

MindMedicine Blog

Professional Golfer & Mind Coach in Life & Professional Sport...

46 Psalm

Be still and know that I am God

Ireadthat

read, write and contribute

